Want a great gluten-free cracker recipe? Try this protein-packed Sephardic Passover matzo. The Sephardic matzo is allowed to have eggs which makes for a more savory taste and a healthier balance of protein and carbohydrates. Making matzo is also really easy!
Passover is the first night of the week-long “Feast of Unleavened Bread” where Jewish families celebrate with four – yes – four glasses of wine and several SYMBOLIC FOODS, one being matzo. Matzo, or matzah, is the cracker-like, non-yeast bread that is eaten every year at the Passover SEDER to celebrate the Jews’ exodus from Egyptian slavery more than 3,000 years ago. While traditionally the matzo should only be made from five grains – wheat, rye, oats, barley or spelt – my kids love this CASSAVA FLOUR Paleo Matzo.
I have also included my similar Oat Matzo recipe in the Recipe Notes section for those who want a gluten-free option that is more traditional and can be made within 18 minutes from when the water hits the flour. Matzo is supposed to be made within 18 MINUTES since the Jews fleeing Egypt were in such a rush they didn’t have the 18 minutes it takes for bread to rise. Also an interesting fact: The word for life in Hebrew is “CHAI.” When written, the two letters that make up the word chai are “chet” and “yud.” In Gematria (the numerical value of Hebrew letters), chet is equivalent to 8 and yud is equivalent to 10. Since the two letters of chai add up to eighteen, the number 18 also symbolizes life and is a spiritual number in Judism and coincidently it has always been my favorite number – L’chaim 🙂
*Please note: To be kosher, egg matzo is not ok for the first night’s Seder – when there is an obligation to eat poor man’s matzo. As for the rest of Passover, Sephardic Halachic (authorities) permit egg matzo, while Ashkenazic Halachic (authorities) have restricted its use due to risks of chametz (fermentation and rising).